You are here

Back to top

Go for the Goal! (Fred Bowen Sports Stories: Soccer) (Paperback)

Go for the Goal! (Fred Bowen Sports Stories: Soccer) Cover Image
$6.95
Special Order

Description


Get back on the soccer field with this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen - perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Josh is so excited when he earns a spot on the United, an elite travel soccer team with exceptionally talented players. So why can't they win a game?

Despite grueling practices and talent, Josh's teammates are prone to hogging the ball and seem to only play for themselves. He begins to wonder if made a mistake leaving his old team. But just when he's about to give up, Josh learns that the 1999 United States Women's World Cup team faced similar difficulties the year they won it all. Can Josh convince his coach (and his team) to use team-building exercises like the U.S. women's team to make them stronger? Or will they continue to lose the rest of the season?

Fred Bowen returns with another edge-of-your-seat Sports Story Series title emphasizing the important values of teamwork and relationships. An afterword offers more information about the 1999 United States Women's World Cup team.

Discussion Guide available.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781561456321
ISBN-10: 1561456322
Publisher: Peachtree Publishers
Publication Date: August 1st, 2012
Pages: 137
Language: English
Series: Fred Bowen Sports Stories: Soccer