You are here

Back to top

Little Ghoul Goes to School (Hardcover)

Little Ghoul Goes to School Cover Image
By Jef Czekaj, Jef Czekaj (Illustrator)
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Perfect for back-to-school and Halloween, this is a funny and sweet story about a monster’s first day of school by the popular author-illustrator of Cat Secrets. The ideal next read for fans of First Day Jitters, My Monster Mama Loves Me So, and We Don’t Eat Our Classmates.

Little Ghoul is nervous about her first day of school. Her mom assures her that it will be great: The teachers will be scary. The lunch will be revolting! And the other classmates will be spine-tingling and creepy.

But what if Little Ghoul’s greatest fears come true—and everyone is nice?

In this hilariously silly take on a monster’s first day, Little Ghoul learns that school can be fun for creatures of every kind.

About the Author


Jef Czekaj is a cartoonist, children’s book author and illustrator, and musician. His comic, Grampa and Julie: Shark Hunters, ran in Nickelodeon magazine for more than ten years. Jef’s other picture books include Cat Secrets and Dog Rules; Oink-a-Doodle-Moo; and Austin, Lost in America. He lives in Somerville, MA. You can visit him online at www.czekaj.com.



Jef Czekaj is a cartoonist, children’s book author and illustrator, and musician. His comic, Grampa and Julie: Shark Hunters, ran in Nickelodeon magazine for more than ten years. Jef’s other picture books include Cat Secrets and Dog Rules; Oink-a-Doodle-Moo; and Austin, Lost in America. He lives in Somerville, MA. You can visit him online at www.czekaj.com.

Praise For…


“A recommended, imaginative, and playful read-aloud perfect for preschool and early elementary school, sure to scare away the first-day-of-school nerves.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“The illustrations are as entertaining as the text, adding a layer of humor with the reversal of what’s delightful and what’s fearful in the perspective of this oddly endearing little monster….An adorably soothing introduction to the potential terrors of school.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Author-illustrator Czekaj plays reversals throughout to full comedic effect. Comics-style paneled art, rendered in ink and colored digitally, is approachable, expressive, and inclusive, with characters of differing abilities, religions, and skin tones. Adults will appreciate allusions to Mary Shelley and Edward Gorey in this entertaining subversion, which simultaneously serves as an ode to librarians.”
Publishers Weekly

“Czekaj’s splendidly horrid twist on the standard account of first-day jitters is bound to get kids giggling…. A fun book for releasing nerves and finding comfort."
Booklist

“New-to-school fears are humorously explored in this story of one little ghoul whose first day doesn’t go as expected….a uniquely monstrous perspective on a common kid milestone”
— Horn Book Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062441119
ISBN-10: 0062441116
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: June 15th, 2021
Pages: 32
Language: English